If you believe that you are suffering from, or have been diagnosed with gluten intolerance, then resorting to a gluten intolerance diet is essential for you. However, before you self-diagnose, do consult a doctor, and then refer to this list of gluten free foods that you can consume.
Gluten is a protein that is found in foods such as wheat, barley and rye. A lot of people develop an intolerance or allergy to gluten, especially at a younger age. There is a slight difference between gluten intolerance and gluten allergy, but both require you to follow a gluten free diet. Gluten intolerance is also known as Celiac disease, the symptoms of which can be agonizing and even fatal in some cases. As such, following a specific diet for gluten intolerance is what you need to keep these symptoms away. Furthermore, you must obtain the necessary nutrients that are present in foods containing gluten, that you are not permitted to consume. Here are the details of a diet plan that you should adhere to if suffering from various symptoms of this condition.
Diet for Gluten Intolerance
When you adhere to a gluten intolerance or Celiac disease diet, you will notice that the symptoms of your condition have vanished; and when you resume a diet with foods that contain gluten, you will notice that the symptoms seem to reappear. This is one of the ways you can figure out if you suffer from gluten intolerance. However, if the symptoms are serious, do not experiment and consult your doctor immediately for the right kind of measures and diet to be followed.
While you may fear that you will miss out on specific nutrients that are present in foods that contain gluten, you ought to know that there are a lot of other foods that can help you fulfill these nutritional requirements. This is the beauty of nature; no one person can miss out on essential nutrients because they can’t eat one or more types of foods, because there is always some other food that can replace the other. The list of foods you are permitted to eat on a specific diet for wheat gluten intolerance has been provided here.
|Food Group||Permitted Foods|
|Fruits and Vegetables||All types of fresh and canned fruits and vegetables. No sauces are permitted with these.|
|Dairy Products||Unflavored milk (whole, low fat, skimmed, evaporated, condensed), eggs, cream, cheese, cottage cheese, soy milk, yogurt (unflavored), sour cream, tofu, butter & margarine.|
|Meat and Meat Products||Fresh seafood, poultry, pork, beef and eggs (avoid processed meat), canned meat such as tuna and chicken is permissible.|
|Grains, Cereals & Baking Products||Dried beans, lentils, peas, baked beans, puffed rice, brown or white rice (plain), corn tacos, grits, tortillas, breakfast cereals prepared from corn and rice (without malt extract), corn (maize) flour, soy flour, lentil flour, rice flour, rice bran, potato flour, buckwheat, millet, amaranth, polenta and psyllium, gluten free pasta, rice/bean vermicelli, buckwheat noodles, rice noodles.|
|Snacks||Rice cakes, nuts and seeds (plain & unflavored), corn and potato chips (unflavored), rice crackers, popcorn.|
|Condiments||Peanut butter, sugar (brown, white, confectioner’s, molasses), honey, jams and jellies, peanut butter, corn syrup, maple syrup, herbs and spices, pickles, mustard, ketchup, relish, salad dressing, hummus, distilled vinegar, corn or potato starch, salt & pepper.|
|Oils||Vegetable oil, canola oil, olive oil.|
|Drinks and Beverages||Pure and fresh fruit juice (no added flavors or extracts), soft drinks, tea & coffee, cocoa, wine, liquor.|
Whip up some delicious gluten free recipes with the foods mentioned in the list above, and enjoy your meals as much as everyone around you.
Now simply because all these foods are permitted on such a diet, it does not mean they are all healthy for you. This particularly refers to jellies and jams, chips, aerated drinks, etc. It is therefore essential that you consult your doctor before you resort to a gluten-free diet, so that none of the aforementioned foods interfere with any other health conditions you may be suffering from. When shopping, look out for foods labeled ‘gluten-free’ (fortunately you now even get gluten free breads). Not many people are aware they suffer from gluten intolerance or Celiac disease, but if and when you do become aware, the symptoms that occur with it can be reversed and altered to a certain extent, simply by means of switching to a gluten free diet. Do take care when you resort to this diet, and if eating out, try to choose restaurants that serve gluten-free meals. With a little precaution, you too can lead a healthy lifestyle, even when suffering from gluten intolerance.
Disclaimer: This HealthHearty article is for informative purposes only and does not, in any way, intend to replace the advice of a medical expert.